Quick answer: You can rent a car seat in Orlando three main ways: add one to your rental car, reserve an Uber Car Seat ride, or have a seat delivered to your vacation home by a gear rental company such as Honest Sherpa, which lists a convertible car seat and a booster seat. Florida law requires children 5 and under to ride in a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint, so decide on a seat before you land, including for the ride from the airport.
We checked each fact below against the official page on October 12, 2026. Prices, availability and rules change, so confirm before you book.
| Option | What it offers | Cost the source states | How you get it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bring your own seat | A seat whose history you know | No rental fee | Check the airline's rules; for a plane the seat needs the FAA-required label |
| Rental-car counter | Rear-facing, convertible, forward-facing and booster seats, depending on the company | Avis: usually $14 per day, up to $84 per rental, may vary by location. Budget: $14.50 per day, up to $87 per rental, varies by location | Reserve with the car, or ask at the counter (availability varies); installing is on you |
| Honest Sherpa | A convertible seat and a booster seat | See the car seat category page (on October 12: $63 per week and $35 per week) | Order on the site; delivery to your vacation rental, dates chosen at checkout |
| Uber Car Seat | One seat per car; the page gives 5 to 65 lb (see the note on Orlando's seat below) | $10 surcharge on the total | By reservation only, in the cities Uber lists, including Orlando |
| Lyft | No seat provided | Not applicable | Riders are told to bring their own seat |
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and the 2026 Florida Statutes, section 316.613 set the minimum rules:
| Child's age | What the law requires |
|---|---|
| 0 to 3 | A separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer's integrated child seat |
| 4 to 5 | A separate carrier, an integrated child seat or a booster seat |
| 6 to 17 | A seat belt or child restraint device (FLHSMV says all children under 18 riding in a vehicle) |
For children 5 and under, the device must be crash-tested and federally approved. The statute makes a violation a moving violation, punishable as provided in Chapter 318, with 3 points on the driver's license. It also lets a driver elect, with the court's approval, to take a court-approved child restraint safety program; after the program the penalty may be waived at the court's discretion and the points are waived. For ages 4 to 5, the requirement does not apply when a safety belt is used as the law requires and the child is being transported without payment by a driver who is not immediate family (the statute's word is "gratuitously"), is in a medical emergency, or has a medical condition documented by a health care professional.
The statute excludes school buses, buses used for compensation, farm tractors, trucks over 26,000 pounds and motorcycles or bicycles. Subsection 6 also says the requirements do not apply to a chauffeur-driven taxi, limousine, sedan, van, bus, motor coach or other passenger vehicle when the operator and the vehicle are hired and used to carry people for compensation, and it puts the responsibility for complying on the parent, guardian or other person responsible for the child. The statute does not mention rental cars you drive yourself or ride apps by name. We are not lawyers, so if you are unsure about a specific vehicle, ask the company or read the statute itself.
FLHSMV also gives advice beyond the legal minimum: keep a child rear-facing as long as possible, usually until age 2 or 3, and keep a child in a booster until the seat belt fits, meaning the lap belt lies across the upper thighs and the shoulder belt crosses the shoulder and chest.
The law is a floor. NHTSA's car seat guidance is more specific, and it explains why the ranges on a rental listing matter:
So the answer to "can my 4 year old use a booster in Florida?" is yes under the law, but NHTSA's age guidance for ages 4 to 7 is to stay in a harnessed forward-facing seat until the child outgrows its limits. Honest Sherpa's booster listing also starts at 40 pounds, so a child under that weight does not fit that listing.
Honest Sherpa's car seat rental category has two products, both marked "In stock" on the category page (the final check is the availability tool at checkout):
Honest Sherpa lists no infant-only (bucket-style) seat. If you want one, bring your own or check the rental-car company's list below. Both product pages are written for families who get around in a rental car. The Car Seat page uses the words "super easy to install" and the Booster page says "easy to install"; that is the product pages' own wording, and the pages do not mention installation help or a certification, so plan to install the seat yourself, with the manual, just as you would a counter seat.
Two logistics points. First, Honest Sherpa's how-it-works page says to schedule delivery for the day you arrive at your vacation rental, and the pages we read do not mention airport delivery, so the seat will not be waiting at the airport; plan the first ride separately. Second, the listings do not state a seat's manufacture date, expiration date or crash history. Use the contact form linked on each product page to ask before you order.
All four companies below publish a child seat page. We list only what each page says.
| Company | Seats listed | Cost stated | Getting one | Installing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hertz | Rear-facing seat for babies under 20 lb or shorter than 26 in; convertible for 20 to 40 lb and up to 40 in; booster for 40 to 80 lb | Not stated on the page | Add it online or in the app, or ask at the counter (availability may vary) | You are responsible for installing it |
| Avis | Rear-facing and convertible-style, forward-facing and booster seats | Usually $14 per day, up to $84 per rental; Avis says the price may vary at some locations | Choose the type and number of days when you book; Avis says availability can be limited | Avis says you can use the car's anchors and tethers |
| Budget | The page recommends seat types by age: rear-facing infant-only, convertible or 3-in-1 seats, forward-facing seats and boosters | United States: $14.50 per day, up to $87 per rental, varies by location | At corporate-owned locations, Budget says a seat is assured if the reservation is made 48 hours before pickup; otherwise the request is held but first come, first served | Not stated on the page |
| Enterprise | Infant, child and booster seats at many locations | Not stated on the page | Its renting guide says most airport locations and select neighborhood branches offer seats, reserved while booking the car | Employees cannot install seats for customers, but can give directions for installing them |
Do the math for your dates. A week at Avis's posted rate reaches its $84 cap, and Budget's reaches $87 by the same arithmetic, while Honest Sherpa's category price for the convertible seat was $63 per week on October 12. Rental-car fees vary by location, and Honest Sherpa's prices can change, so compare on the day you book. If your seat only needs to cover the drive from the airport to the house and back, a counter seat for a few days may fit better than a weekly rental delivered to the house.
If you skip the rental car, check what the apps say. Uber Car Seat lists Orlando among its cities. Uber says the rides are by reservation only, with one car seat per car and a $10 surcharge. The page describes a Nuna RAVA seat for children weighing 5 to 65 pounds, but a footnote on the same page says that in Orlando the rides are currently equipped with an IMMI GO seat, so the page names two different seats. Confirm the seat's own weight and height limits in the Uber app before you reserve. Uber also says parents are solely responsible for checking that the child meets the eligibility rules, inspecting the seat for proper installation and securing the child.
Lyft's rider policy says to plan on bringing your own car seat for a child who needs one, and that it must meet the legal requirements in your state and city. For taxis, subsection 6 of the Florida statute (above) exempts a chauffeur-driven taxi hired for compensation from the child restraint requirement, so whether a taxi carries a seat is a question for the company; we found no taxi company policy page we could rely on.
A rented seat is second-hand, and so is one from a neighbor or a marketplace. NHTSA's used car seat checklist says a second-hand seat may be okay only if you can confirm all of these:
Put the same questions to any rental company, and look at the labels yourself when the seat arrives. If a provider cannot tell you the seat's history, choose another seat.
NHTSA says a seat is installed with either the lower anchors or the seat belt, never both, and that a forward-facing seat should use the tether when both the seat and vehicle manufacturers allow it. It also points out that not every seat fits every vehicle, so read the seat manual and the vehicle owner's manual. You can get a seat checked by a certified technician, free in most cases, through NHTSA's inspection station search, and FLHSMV links a list of Florida fitting stations by county. Check ahead whether a station near your vacation home can see you during your stay.
The FAA says the safest place for a child under two is in an approved child restraint, not your lap, and that buying a ticket for the child is the only way to be sure you can use one for a child under two. A seat must carry a label saying it is certified for both motor vehicles and aircraft (or a required foreign-government approval label), and the manual should confirm it can be secured in an airplane seat, otherwise you may be asked to check it. The FAA prohibits baby carriers, booster seats and backless child restraints during ground movement, takeoff and landing. If you are deciding whether to fly with a seat or rent one, our guide to flying to Orlando with a baby walks through the trade-offs.
If a seat is on your list, the rest of the baby gear usually is too. Honest Sherpa's cribs and bedding category lists a full-size crib, portable crib, pack and play, infant bassinet, toddler bed, bed rail and a pack and play linen pack, and its stroller category lists single, umbrella, jogging and double strollers plus rain covers. Our guides to the best baby gear rentals in Orlando and the vacation rental baby gear checklist help you decide what to pack and what to rent.
Can my 4 year old be in a booster seat in Florida? Yes. Florida law lets children ages 4 to 5 ride in a separate carrier, an integrated child seat or a booster seat. NHTSA's guidance for ages 4 to 7 is to stay in a harnessed forward-facing seat until the child outgrows its limits.
Do rental cars in Orlando come with car seats? Not automatically. Hertz, Avis, Budget and Enterprise each offer seats you request with your reservation or at the counter. Hertz says you are responsible for installing the seat, and Enterprise says its employees cannot install seats for customers.
How much does a rental-car company charge for a car seat? Avis lists usually $14 per day, up to $84 per rental, and Budget lists $14.50 per day, up to $87 per rental, varying by location. Hertz and Enterprise do not state prices on the pages we read.
Does Uber have car seats in Orlando? Uber Car Seat lists Orlando. It is by reservation only, with a $10 surcharge and one seat per car. The page gives 5 to 65 pounds, but a footnote says Orlando rides currently use an IMMI GO seat, so confirm that seat's limits in the app.
Does Lyft provide car seats? Lyft's help page tells riders to plan on bringing their own seat.
What is the Florida car seat law? Children 5 and under need a crash-tested, federally approved restraint: a separate carrier or integrated seat for ages 0 to 3, and a carrier, integrated seat or booster for ages 4 to 5. A violation is a moving violation with 3 points. The statute exempts chauffeur-driven taxis and other passenger vehicles hired and used for compensation, and says the parent or guardian is responsible for complying.
Can I bring my own car seat on a plane? Yes, if it carries the label certifying it for both motor vehicles and aircraft and can be secured in an airplane seat. The FAA prohibits booster seats during ground movement, takeoff and landing.
Is a used or borrowed car seat safe? Only if it passes NHTSA's checklist: no moderate or severe crash, readable labels, no recalls, all parts and the instruction book. If you cannot confirm the history, do not use it.
Does Honest Sherpa rent an infant-only (bucket) seat? No. Its car seat category lists a convertible seat and a booster seat.
Need a seat waiting at your vacation home? Honest Sherpa lists a convertible car seat and a booster seat with free delivery and pickup seven days a week, delivered for your arrival day and picked up for your departure day, with the dates chosen at checkout. Enter your zip code or city on the site to see if your address is covered.